An emergency meeting of Leh APEX Body and Kargil Democratic Alliance was held at Jammu today i.e 7th of January 2023 regarding the recent announcement by the Home Ministry about the formation of the High-Powered Committee to resolve the outstanding issues of Union Territory of Ladakh and to take a decision about the participation in the subsequent meetings to be held. Members of both APEX Body and the KDA participated in the meeting and unanimously resolved as under: –

  1. The Leh APEX Body and the KDA decided not to accept the formation of the High-Powered Committee and attend any meeting conducted under the aegis of the Committee as the said Committee has not been mandated to discuss issues raised by the APEX and the KDA. However, it was resolved that both the bodies will agree to participate in any meeting headed by a committee which is empowered to discuss the four issues in question, i.e (1.) Statehood for UT Ladakkh (2.) Constitutional Safeguard under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India in order to protect the interest of the Tribal People of Ladakh. (3.) Formation of Public Service Commission and Reservation of Jobs for youth of Ladakh. (4.) Creation of two separate parliamentary constituencies for Leh and Kargil.
  2. The meeting further strongly objected to the composition of members of the High-Powered Committee representing Leh APEX Body and KDA as the government has arbitrarily excluded and included members without consultation with the APEX Body and the KDA. It was further resolved that the government should include all the names as proposed by Leh APEX and KDA body in the year 2021 as per Home Ministry’s instruction, which are as under: –
    Panel of names of the APEX Body are –
    i. Venerable Thiksey Rinpochhe
    ii. Thupstan Chhewang Ex Member of Parliament of Ladakh
    iii. Tsering Dorjey Lakruk
    iv. Acharya Stanzin Wangtak President LGA Leh.
    v. Shri Nawang Rigzin Jora, Ex Minister J&K
    vi. Shri Ashraf Ali Barcha, President Anjuman Imamia
    vii. Dr. Abdul Qayum, President Anjuman Moin-ul-Islam
    Members of the Kargil Democratic Alliance: –
    i. Shri Qamar Ali Akhone Ex. Minister
    ii. Shri Asgar Ali Karbalai Ex MLA
    iii. Shri Sajjad Hussain Kargili Representative Jamiat Ulema Isna Asharia
    iv. Shri Shiekh Bashir Shakir, Vice Chairman IKMT Kargil
    v. Agha Syed Ahmad Rizvi Anjuman Sahab Zaman
    vi. Agha Syed Mohammad Shah Anjuman Noorbakshia
    vii. Haji Ghulam Nabi Var Anjuman e Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamat
    viii. Skarma Dadul , Ladakh Buddhist Association Kargil.
  3. It was further resolved in the meeting that the agitation for the resolution of the above four issues shall continue till our genuine demands are fulfilled. In this connection, the APEX and KDA propose to have protest rally at Jammu on the 15th of January followed by Dharna Protest at Jantar Mantar in New Delhi on 3rd week of February 2023. It may also be clarified that both the bodies have decided to intensify the agitation during 2023.


Shaharbeen News Service Kashmir is a news service which covers, gathers, writes, and distributes news to newspapers, periodicals, radio and television broadcasters, government agencies, and other users. We at SNS Kashmir believe in fair and independent journalism to inform our masses or subscribers and readers about the happenings around the world. The prime focus of the news gathering and reporting is focused on Jammu and Kashmir state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.