By Inayat Qayoom

Baramulla / April 26 :

The Election Commission of India has taken a significant step forward today by issuing a notification for the sixth phase of elections, focusing on the Baramulla parliamentary constituency.

Manga Sherpa, the Retiring Officer for Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency, has officially announced the commencement of the election process.

As per the notification, aspiring candidates have until May 3rd, 2024, to file their nomination papers. The scrutiny of these forms will take place on May 4th, with the deadline for withdrawal of nominations set for May 6th. The constituency is poised to cast its votes on May 20th, 2024.

Covering a vast area, the Baramulla parliamentary seat encompasses 18 assembly constituencies across four districts, a notable increase from the 15 assembly constituencies it comprised in 2019. Among these are 5 from Kupwara district, 7 from Baramulla, and 3 from Bandipora.

This year’s electoral landscape has seen changes due to delimitation exercises. Notably, Terhgam has emerged as a new assembly constituency in Kupwara district, while Sangrama Assembly Constituency in Baramulla district has been redefined and renamed as Kariri Wagora.

Furthermore, the merging of Biruh and Budgam, two assembly constituencies from Budgam district, with the parliamentary seat has expanded the constituency’s reach. With these additions, the Baramulla parliamentary seat now encompasses a total of 18 assembly constituencies.

The issuance of the notification marks the beginning of a crucial phase in the democratic process, as candidates and voters gear up for yet another pivotal election cycle in Baramulla.

The total number of voters in this parliamentary seat stands at 1,730,661, comprising 872,453 males and 858,173 females. Additionally, there are 25,497 migrant voters registered as of the latest count.

In preparation for the elections, 2,103 polling stations have been set up for the Baramulla parliamentary seat, all of which have been declared sensitive, underscoring the need for heightened security measures.

On the inaugural day of the nomination process, Prince Pervez, the general secretary of an Awami Etihad Party, received the nomination papers for its jailed leader Engineer Rashid, currently lodged in Tihar Jail.

Speaking to the press, Prince Pervez announced plans to travel to Delhi today, where he will get signatures of Engineer Rashid’s nomination papers.

Even before the official election notification, political parties such as the National Conference, People’s Democratic Party, and People’s Conference have initiated their election campaigns in North Kashmir. Rallies and processions have already been organized in various areas, setting the stage for a dynamic and spirited electoral contest in Baramulla.

(Correspondent can be reached on :


Shaharbeen News Service Kashmir is a news service which covers, gathers, writes, and distributes news to newspapers, periodicals, radio and television broadcasters, government agencies, and other users. We at SNS Kashmir believe in fair and independent journalism to inform our masses or subscribers and readers about the happenings around the world. The prime focus of the news gathering and reporting is focused on Jammu and Kashmir state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.